



Dr. Jordan Salomon

"Identifying drivers of trophic interactions: Vector-borne zoonotic diseases as study systems."

Chair: Dr. Sarah Hamer



Angela Haggard, MS

"Morphological characterization of the Sonoran Topminnow, Poeciliopsis occidentalis sensu lato, complex, with comments on their asexual hybridogenetic parasites."

Chair: Dr. Mariana Mateos

Welcome! 2024 PhD Cohort

Alister Brown

- Gursky Lab
 - Anthropology
- MS Central Washington University

Eliyashaib James

- Sword & Song Labs
 - Entomology
- BS Rutgers









Loris Di Vozzo

- Lawing Lab
 - Ecology & Conservation Biology
- · MS Università di Pisa

Sierra Sanders

- · Casola Lab
 - Ecology & Conservation Biology
- BS Texas A&M University

Congratulations!

Texas A&M Geologist Receives National Recognition for Career Contributions to Coal Geology

Dr. Anne Raymond was honored by The Energy Division of the Geological Society of America for her lifetime of research and her decades of effort in training fossil pollen experts, many of whom have pursued extensive careers in the petroleum industry. She received the Gilbert H. Cady Award in September 2024.







Texas A&M College of Agriculture & Life Sciences 2024
Dean's Outstanding Achievement Award Winners:
Early Career Research: Dr. Sanjay Antony Babu, PLPM
Student Relations: Dr. Jessica Light, ECCB



Association of Former Students College Level Teaching Award Winner: Dr. Juliana Rangel, Entomology

Lydia Morley Spalink Lab 2024-2025 Future Faculty Fellowship (F3) Awardee





Ruby Mustill
Fitzpatrick Lab
Texas A&M Hagler Institute
for Advanced Study
Heep Graduate Fellowship
Award

In the News:

Breann Richey (Lawing

Lab) was featured on

KOAM News Now in Joplin,

MO for her research on the
invasive Italian wall lizards







tx.ag/walllizard







The following faculty were promoted on September 1 (from L to R):

Dr. Masami Fujiwara, Ecology & Conservation Biology - Professor

Dr. Tom Chappell, Plant Pathology & Microbiology - Associate Professor

Dr. Anjel Helms, Entomology - Associate Professor

Welcome the newest core faculty members (from L to R):

Dr. Sheila Kitchen, Marine Biology at TAMUG - Assistant Professor

Dr. Brian Davis, Veterinary Pathobiology - Associate Professor and Director of VMB

Dr. Ian Ausprey, Ecology & Conservation Biology - Assistant Professor

Dr. Antonio Rodrigues, Ecology & Conservation Biology - Assistant Professor









Congratulations!

Three Texas A&M Biologists Receive Coveted MIRA Research Grant

Dr. Rachel Moran (BIOL) received the National Institutes of Health Maximizing Investigators' Research Award (MIRA) in the amount of \$1.9 million to better understand the complex social behaviors of darter fish, from the genetic and evolutionary mechanisms involved to the neural basis behind parental care.





EEB kicked off the fall semester with a Trivia Night.

Program award winners include (from top L to R):

Dr. Dave Bapst, GEOL - Faculty Excellence

Meredith Anderson, S Hamer Lab - Graduate Student Service

Dr. Courtney Fitzpatrick, BIOL - Faculty Excellence

Griffin Nicholson, Fitzgerald Lab - Graduate Student Service

Breann Richey, Lawing Lab - Graduate Student Teaching

Additional winners (from bottom L to R):
Nicole Stevens, Fitzgerald Lab - Graduate Student Service
Allison Collins, Gursky Lab - Graduate Student Teaching
Shelbie Weaver, Wicksten Lab - Graduate Student Teaching







Winners!

Texas A&M Graduate &
Professional School Graduate
Student Research and
Presentation Travel Award

Ben Lake, Yorzinski Lab Audélia Mechti, Sword Lab



Dr. Jordan Salomon
S. Hamer Lab
Emerging Southwestern
Ecologist Award from the
Southwestern Branch of the
Ecological Society of
America, 2024



Jorge Medina, Song Lab 2024 Dissertation Fellowship Awardee











Congratulations on being Admitted to Candidacy (L to R): Ali Lira Olguin, Light Lab; Andie Miller, Sword Lab; Audélia Mechti, Sword Lab; Vivian Peralta Santana, Song Lab

2024-2025 Montague-Center for Teaching Excellence Scholars Early-Career Award Dr. Daniel Spalink, ECCB





Dr. Gary Voelker (ECCB) joins the EEB Executive Committee as the Outreach Chair.

Thank you to Dr. Jessica Yorzinski for serving as the Outreach Chair for the 2023-2024 year. EEB is excited for your growing family.

Passed Prelims or Research Proposal Defense

Nicole Stevens Fitzgerald Lab





Jackson Linde Song Lab

Skai Peterson Helms Lah





Oluwaseun Ajileye Light Lab

Adeyinka Aduragbemi Spalink Lab











EEB Trivia Winners
Team Bearded Seals (L to R):
Lauren Doellinger (BIOL),
Malith Viduranga, Steve
Caird, Ruby Mustill, Myles
Wagner, Austin Ehrie (BIOL)







2023-2024 Department of Ecology & Conservation Biology awards were presented in October.

Congratulations!

- Outstanding Doctoral Student: Josh Lerner
- Excellence Award in Graduate Teaching: Dr. Josh Perkin
- Excellence Award in Research: Dr. Rusty Feagin

Aggie Gold!

BTHO 90 Hours!

EEB seminar student worker and ECCB senior, Caleb Catlett, received his Aggie ring on October 11, 2024. Congratulations!

